Law in place protects mothers who can't care for their newborns

- There are laws in place that protect mothers who can't take care of their newborns if the baby is surrendered under the right circumstances. 

In North Carolina, there are designated Safe Havens. 

A parent who is not willing or able to care for a newborn can anonymously and voluntarily bring an infant under 7-days-old to SAve Haven Centers. 

Those include hospital, the health department, police or sheriff offices, and fire stations. 

The parent can leave the newborn with a worker at one of these locations, and does not need to identify themselves. 

In South Carolina, Daniel's Law was designed for the same reasons. In South Carolina, anyone can take a baby who is less than 30 days old to a Safe Haven location. 

Those are defined as a hospital, law enforcement agency or church. 

In Charlotte, anyone can surrender the baby and not reveal their identity. They may be asked for medical information on the baby, or parent's information. 

Up Next:


  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in -- includes Advertiser Stories