It could soon be illegal to even hold a cellphone while driving in South Carolina

- Sending a text message or even holding your cellphone while driving in South Carolina could soon mean big penalties if one bill becomes law. 

The bill, titled H. 4480, builds onto what is already listed as penalties for texting and driving. The proposed bill would make it illegal to hold a phone or electronic device while driving and at stop lights and stop signs.

The fine for the first time would be $100 instead of $25 as the current law states. The fine for each time after that would be $300 and two points on the license. 

Across the state, South Carolina Highway Patrol has reported 993 crashes that have caused injuries due to distracted driving in 2018. So far, 12 of those were caused by texting and 13 deadly wrecks were due to distracted driving. 

The House delayed debating the controversial bill on Wednesday but could begin discussions as early as Thursday. If the bill passes the House, it then heads to the Senate. 

For further details on H. 4480, CLICK HERE.

Up Next:


  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in -- includes Advertiser Stories