Trick-or-treating over age of 12 could earn jail time in Virginia town

How old is too old to trick-or-treat?

According to city code in Chesapeake, Virginia, anyone over the age of 12 who is caught trick-or-treating could get jail time.

Trick-or-treating over the age of 12 is punishable by a fine of $25 to $100 or up to six months in jail.

Police say they are not going to actively enforce this, and if a 13-year-old is trick-or-treating with a younger sibling for example, they won't be in any trouble.

Up Next:


  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in -- includes Advertiser Stories