School districts, students prepare for first day of class

Many students across South Carolina headed back to class on Monday after enjoying their last weekend of summer break. 

Schools in Rock Hill, Fort Mill, Chester, Lancaster, York, Chesterfield, Clover, Ashe County, Avery County and Watauga County returned to the classroom.

About 18,000 students headed back to school in Rock Hill, along with new Superintendent Bill Cook. 

As for Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, students from these counties start class, Monday August 27: 

  • Cabarrus County Schools
  • Gaston County Schools
  • Union County Public Schools
  • Anson County School District
  • Burke County Public Schools
  • Caldwell County Schools
  • Alexander County Schools
  • Cleveland County Schools
  • Lincoln County Schools
  • Catawba County Schools
  • Iredell-Statesville Schools
  • Rowan-Salisbury Schools
  • Stanly County Schools
  • Richmond County Schools
  • Hickory Public Schools
  • Newton-Conover City Schools
  • Kannapolis City Schools
  • Mooresville Graded School District