Schools announce closings, delays after snow hits NC

Multiple northern school districts are closed or delayed Tuesday morning after snow and wintry weather moved through a portion of the state on Monday. 

Rowan-Salisbury Schools and Iredell-Statesville Schools will operate on a two-hour delay on Tuesday. Kannapolis City Schools said they will operate on a three-hour delay.

Avery County Schools, Ashe County Schools, Alleghany County Schools, Watauga County Schools, and Mitchell County Schools will be closed for students Tuesday. 

It will be an optional teacher workday for staff at Watauga County Schools. The snow day program in Watauga County opens at 7:30 a.m. Tuesday, school officials said. 

Tuesday's closings and delays come one day after multiple school districts in western North Carolina and in the High County area canceled class on Monday. A Winter Storm Warning was in effect for Ashe, Avery, and Watauga counties until midnight on Monday but was canceled earlier in the day.