Watauga, Ashe counties issue school closings Wednesday

Two counties in North Carolina will be closed Wednesday for students after school officials had originally issued a two-hour delay. 

Both Ashe County Schools and Watauga County Schools will be closed. 

School officials with Watauga County said Wednesday is an Annual Leave Day for teachers. All other staff members "may report on a 2-hour delay if needed for safety," WSC tweeted. 

Watauga County Schools said their snow day program will open at 7:30 a.m. Wednesday.